Senior Championships 2020

Senior Championships 2020

Congratulations to all the participants in this year’s Senior Club Championships and especially the
winners/runners up who contested the finals the weekend before last. Unfortunately, due to Covid
restrictions, the Finals were played without the usual large gathering of spectators but this didn’t
take away from some hotly competitive matches. All in all, 20 matches took place over the course of
the weekend and the list of winners and runners up are provided below as well as photos from the
prize giving presentation. Some plate finals remain un-played due to current restrictions but we
expect these to be completed in due course.


A special thanks to some individuals who supported the running of this year’s championship,
1.  Monitors Therese Fitzgerald, Sarah Greene, Anne Marie Fitzpatrick and Leonie Lynch who had the
unenviable task of reminding players to get matches completed by deadlines dates
2.  Ray Fitzmaurice – Photographer on finals weekend for his time and photos of prize winners
3.  Ronni Matti, Elaine Mulcahy and Colm O’Reilly for their time acting as security guards!
4.  Catherine Owens for her beautiful photos of Malahide and permitting us to use them as prizes.
5.  Michael Byrne and Frank O’Brien who were always there in the background guiding us with their
patience and expertise.

The at-home celebrations of 2020 will unfortunately have to be postponed till another time but this will no doubt add to the anticipation of 2021 when we can hopefully return to a more ‘normal’ tennis life. Wishing all our members and their families health and safety in this current pandemic

Presentations of prizes shown here

Event A                          Winner                                                     Runner Up

Ladies Singles                Tanya Murtagh                                     N/A

Mens Singles                  Dan O’Neill                                               Maurice Kenny

Mens Doubles                Gary & Michael Kilduff                           Florian Plass & Alan Rooney

Ladies Doubles               Tanya Murtagh & Liz Ford                      Orla O’Dwyer & Ciara Baraganwath

Mixed Double                Tanya Murtagh & Alan Rooney               Liz Ford & Niall Baragwanath

Event B                          Winner                                                     Runner Up

Ladies Singles                Elaine Priess                                              Patricia Cullen

Mens Singles                  Phelim Butler                                            Andy Deane

Mens Doubles                Liam & Phelim Butler                              Jeff & James Wright

Ladies Doubles               Alison O’Brien & Michelle Forrester        Linda Honan & Elaine Priess

Mixed Doubles               Michelle Forrester & Andy Deane           Heather Murphy & Liam Butler

Event C                          Winner                                                     Runner Up

Ladies Singles                Maeve Daly                                              Ruth Sheerin

Mens Singles                  Derek Reid                                                Arnaud Bonvarlet

Mens Doubles                Ken & Eoin O’Connor                              Stephen Nolan & Kevin Niall

Ladies Doubles               Therese Fitzgerald & Deirdre MacNamara           Sarah Greene & Ruth Sheerin

Mixed Doubles               Alison McDermott & Rory Black             Michelle Gilmartin & Colm Brady

Event D                          Winner                                                     Runner Up

Ladies Singles                Davina Collins                                          Shauna Feeney

Mens Singles                  Peter Evans                                               Anthony Cross

Mens Doubles                Michael Hughes & Ray O’Gorman           Damien Quilligan & Philip Matthews

Ladies Doubles               Yvonne Delaney & Linda Jones Cowley  Orlaith McHugh & Tracey Watters

Mixed Doubles               Kathleen Crowe & Andrew Champ          Rosalind Howell & Rob Weld

Yours in tennis

Captains Jean Killeen & Stephen Nolan

Vice Captains Clair Whyms & Steve MacNicholas

Presentations of prizes shown here



No comment yet.

Leave a Reply